Why I’m Done with my own Country

Posted: October 10, 2012 in controversy, peace and love, politics
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Dutch are great right?  It’s like a paradise country.  It’s flat, there’s plenty of water, it’s one of the cleanest countries in the world.  Us Dutchies lie on beds of tulips in the shade of our windmills, eating nothing but cheese when we get the munchies of the readily available weed.  Sounds great, doesn’t it?  Except that’s not the case.  At all.  So stop booking your trips to Amsterdam (not in the least because there’s a heck of a lot more to Holland than Amsterdam) and look around you a bit first.

The Dutch Government

We, as Dutch people, are known for our tolerance right?  We have this super multicultural society where everybody is welcome whenever they want right?  Other countries look at us and how we do things, because we have almost no racism.  That’s right, isn’t it?  No it’s not.  Not at all, in fact.  You wouldn’t believe how many people voted for Wilders in the last election, Wilders being a right winged idiot who will give the leaders of the BNP and the EDL put together a huge run for their money.  He wasn’t actually elected, but the idiot had so many votes that he became some sort of advisor to the cabinet.  And when he didn’t agree with something crucial, the cabinet had to be dissolved.  Elections have only just been held again, I’m scared to look at the results.

This all started about a decade or so ago, when Pim Fortuyn suddenly reared his ugly head.  Interestingly, I once had a seminar by Pim Fortuyn, a seminar on Marxist Sociology.  Imagine my surprise when his main message was, in very simple terms (and that’s how he put them): All foreigners OUT.  Pim Fortuyn was murdered by an animal extremist, but his party continued to grow in popularity.

So no, Holland is not tolerant.

Pass the Dutchie

The other great thing about the Dutch is the free access to drugs right?  Wrong.  You now have to apply for a “weed pass”.  You can only apply for these from the council in which you live.  With your pass, you can only buy weed in the town for which you got the pass.  So me, a Dutch person, cannot buy weed in my own country anymore because I don’t live there.  I am now, when I visit my own country, a drugs tourist.  Back to the tolerance again, I guess…

My Own Little Gripe

Some years ago, I moved to the UK because my husband is from here.  When my passport ran out, I found out that I have to go through a hugely complicated process just to reapply for a Dutch passport.  Not a problem, I thought.  Since I am married to a Brit, I’ll just apply for dual nationality.  I contacted the British government and they said that wouldn’t be a problem at all and that I should contact the Dutch authorities to set the ball in motion.  Surprise, surprise, the Dutch don’t allow it.  Once you’re Dutch, you’re Dutch for life.  So, the only way I can get an English passport is if I officially denounce the Dutch nationality and apply for full British nationality.  That entire process would cost me somewhere near £3,000.  And my son, who is half Dutch, half English, will be allowed dual nationality until he is 18.  On his 18th birthday, he will have to choose.  The British would be happy for him to have two passports, but not the Dutch.  He either chooses fully for his half cultural heritage, or he doesn’t get it at all.  Again with the tolerance.

So next time you praise the Dutch for all their wonderfulness, think again.

Comments
  1. frustratedfoodie says:

    Insane on the membrane…! At least you have better food over there! 😛

    • Jo-Lo says:

      Haha well I would disagree with that. Not because I think Dutch food is great, but because English food is quite questionable… I mean, faggots and spotted dick lol??

      • frustratedfoodie says:

        Well OK, I don’t know which part of UK you’re living but London is a step up from where it used to be…NL is where UK used to be lol! 😦

  2. Jo-Lo says:

    Lol! Well, I live in the part of the UK that pretty much doesn’t exist according to the current government, which would be the north east. Food here is mainly limited to cups of tea with too much milk and lots of sugar, curries, chinese, kebabs, parmos (have they come down south yet, or is this still something this specific area can be “proud” of) and fish and chips. Luckily, my hubby can cook 😀

  3. John Birch says:

    Don’t accuse the Dutch of racism or else Zwarte Piet will get you in your sleep.

    • Jo-Lo says:

      Actually, he will just as happily get you when you’re awake. But first he whips yuo with a wooden brush, then stuffs you in a canvas bag and takes you to Spain… What a legacy…

Leave a Reply

